A January cliche…

The beginning of the year couldn’t possibly pass without a post about resolutions, could it?!  I suppose I have already broken some of my goals (I prefer this term over resolutions) for the year, but look forward to a year of discovering more about myself and the world I inhabit with billions of others.

To come up with some of these goals, I used the Goal Setting Workshop app on my iPad.  If you know me, if tech is not involved, the likelihood of me doing it gets lesser and lesser (hence why I now have a Kindle for reading convenience!).  The app got me thinking about the things I wanted to accomplish not only this year, but for the next great while.  Below are some of the things – and the reasons behind them – that I’d like to accomplish this year.

My goals for the upcoming year:
1. Write in my blog or write in my novel at least once a day
OK, so I already lost out on this one; perhaps the goal of making a point to write in both more often is more practical…
To advance and keep sharp my writing skills and to keep my creativity going.
2. Lose 55 pounds
To live a longer, more fulfilled life. To feel better and do more things. To become the me and look like the me I’ve always wanted.  – PLUS, it will make traveling easier and more pleasant!!
3. Cut down to three pops per week
To help me lose weight and feel much better. To keep toxins and artificial sweeteners away from my body.
4. Cultivate a cleaner room
So I can be more presentable, have more space, be more organized, and become less materialistic by letting go.
5. Sleep more
So I can be at 100% each and everyday, to be more attentive and active, to feel better and become healthier.
6. Set up a dream board
So I can visualize my goals and dreams, and through doing that visually, know what I want to accomplish and get out of life.
7. Be on time more often!
Unfortunately for me, my first professor of the day last semester didn’t place a lot of emphasis on being on time, so I wasn’t.  This bad habit of being late everyday needs to go away!!

Outside of the above list, I want to continue to travel (if I can find a travel mate, I’d maybe like to see the Chichen Itza in Mexico – being 2012 and all), learn more Spanish through a class I’m taking at college, learn how to shoot better with manual settings on my camera, be more helpful and understanding with family and friends (and spend more time with each), work out with a renewed frenzy (BIGGEST LOSER!!), and finally get through some pictures and share them!

However, one of my biggest goals which is so far working out, is finding more time using some of my spare time to read.  I’m already halfway through a short novel (“Deadline”) and am in the reading mood.  Let’s hope it lasts!

Here’s to a year of goal-making and goal-achieving!!  Happy 2012 – I think it’s going to be a good one.

Luke

2 thoughts on “A January cliche…

  1. OMG, Laura! If you are serious, I have always wanted to travel to Machu Picchu and South America!! (Would rather go there than Mexico, LOL)I think I'm going to brainstorm my dream board on Pinterest and then maybe make a tangible one (again, if it's tech, let's do it!).I think 2012 will be amazing!!

  2. All those are great goals Luke! I need a travel partner for Machu Pichu, so maybe you can do that instead of traveling to Mexico! :)Dream boards work! I do one every year! I'm going to work out now and I'll imagine Dolvett and Bob telling me I can do MORE! 🙂 Can't wait to see how our 2012 turns out! xo

Comment Away!

