Washington, D.C. – Day Two – Dupont Circle & Capitol Hill (Part I)

As promised, although delivered much later than I had wanted, here is a continuation from last week’s blog post about my short visit to Washington, D.C.:

After a morning of briefly exploring Georgetown, I texted my aunt (who works at the Library of Congress in the Geography & Maps Division) to see if we were still on for lunch (we were).  We had emailed earlier in the week and wanted to give Spike Mendelsohn’s Good Stuff Eatery, a burger and shakes place on Capitol Hill, another try.  The last time I was at GSE had been to try their signature Toasted Marshmallow Milkshake during a December 2010 visit.  Since it is only a block or two’s walk away from my aunt’s office, we set a time and I slowly made my way across town, with thoughts of greasy burgers and heaps of flavorful fries on my mind.  Well, on my mind more than is usual, anyway.  😉

Hipsta in hand and snow on the sidewalks, I made my way from Georgetown to Dupont Circle and points beyond...

Hipsta in hand and snow on the sidewalks, I made my way from Georgetown to Dupont Circle and points beyond…

I decided to take P Street from Georgetown/Rose Park until I arrived at Dupont Circle, where I’d catch the Metro up to Capitol South and surprise my aunt at her office (I had gotten in too early the previous evening to see her).  I saw lots of neat things (and, as you’ll see, people) along the way!

Being from Kansas, a Wizard of Oz mural in the middle of Washington, D.C., was, well, too awesome.

Being from Kansas, a Wizard of Oz mural in the middle of Washington, D.C., was, well, too awesome.  See Toto in the lower left?

The architecture in D.C. is something anyone - architecture enthusiast or otherwise - can appreciate and marvel.  I tried to figure out how to process and crop this photo, and settled on this composition because it showed off the interesting shapes and details of the building.

The architecture in D.C. is something anyone – architecture enthusiast or otherwise – can appreciate and marvel at. I tried to figure out how to process and crop this photo, and settled on this composition because it showed off the interesting shapes and details of the building.

People of Dupont Circle:  KGB? CIA? Secret spy?? Can anyone tell I've been watching too much Homeland and The Americans???

People of Dupont Circle: KGB? CIA? Secret spy?? Can anyone tell I’ve been watching too much Homeland and The Americans???

People of Dupont Circle

People of Dupont Circle

People of Dupont Circle:  I'm sure he's just talking on the phone, but it looks like he's learning a new language.

People of Dupont Circle: I’m sure he’s just talking on the phone, but it looks like he’s learning a new language.  Plus, look at those guys on the bench back there!  D.C. is full of characters, just dying to be photographed.

Bicycles Galore...

Bicycles Galore…

HOT NOW:  A Tale of Krispy Kremes...

HOT NOW: A Tale of Krispy Kremes…

An Intimate Moment...?  Well, maybe they're iMessaging each other, LOL.

An Intimate Moment…? Well, maybe they’re iMessaging each other?! LOL

After making my way to Dupont Circle (and observing all of the interesting people along the way), I made a transfer at Metro Center and got off at Capitol South Metro and walked across the street to the James Madison Building of the Library of Congress.  I took some photos of the exterior of my aunt’s building and met her at her office.  After chatting for a bit, we made our way (by this point, it had started raining) to Good Stuff Eatery, met along the way by some very intense-looking USMC runners.

"What spectacle can be more edifying or more seasonable than that of liberty & learning, each leaning on the other for their mutual and surest support?" - James Madison This quote is on the entry facade of the Library of Congress James Madison Building, where my aunt works.

“What spectacle can be more edifying or more seasonable than that of liberty & learning, each leaning on the other for their mutual and surest support?” – James Madison
This quote is on the entry facade of the Library of Congress James Madison Building, where my aunt works.

Frank Eliscu's "Falling Books" at the entrance to the James Madison Building of the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.

Frank Eliscu’s “Falling Books” at the entrance to the James Madison Building of the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.

The Good Stuff Eatery Cow Bell...  I ordered directly beneath this, so, yeah...  Let's hope it's attached well!

The Good Stuff Eatery Cow Bell… I ordered directly beneath this, so, yeah… Let’s hope it’s attached well!

The Good Stuff Melt @Good Stuff Eatery • Melted Cheddar & Muenster, Caramelized Onions & Mushrooms With Good Stuff Sauce I also decided to indulge with Spike's Village Fries Topped with Fresh Thyme, Rosemary & Sea Salt. I was feeling pretty happy that I'd chosen to walk all over that day, is all I have to say.

The Good Stuff Melt @Good Stuff Eatery • Melted Cheddar & Muenster, Caramelized Onions & Mushrooms With Good Stuff Sauce.  I also decided to indulge with Spike’s Village Fries, Topped with Fresh Thyme, Rosemary & Sea Salt.  I was feeling pretty secure in my decision to do my photo walks earlier that morning in the hopes that it would help make a dent in the calories I was about to ingest!!

The burger and fries were greasy, of course, but oh. so. damn. delicious.  I felt like my heart might stop at any minute, so I opted not to have a shake, remembering my experience a few years ago where I, Luke A. Bunker, could not even finish a milkshake from there because it was so sweet.  Looking back, that was a good call.

In my next post, I’ll share some photos I took at the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History (there’s a somewhat funny story there), as well as the U.S. Capitol and Supreme Court Buildings.

Comment Away!

